top of page

WAP-UK017 is my new adventure

I came in the Uk pushed by need to explore and study. In Italy (my motherland) I hadn't the chance to finish my studies and/or live there. (YES, I am an economic immigrant). After 3 neverending years I finally have the opportunity to enrol in a MA in Photography at the University of Portsmouth.

To be admitted, I need a fresh portfolio.

The course will start in September, so I started thinking about what my next topic could be; It must be something interesting, it must be developed in a very short time and last but not least, must rapresent me. I assume that talking about witches and pictures means also talking a bit about me, in a way.

Why am I so interested in this specific topic? I'll try to be short: my schoolmates named me "the witch" and it influenced me a lot in my teen's search for my identity.

The word "witch" for me ment to be free to be what I was and what I am. The witch is an archetype that I really enjoyed to discover in my adolescence probably (surely) because my family/personal/social background.

For the same reason I am always been feminist, I never accepted that the "father's rules in his home", "you can't do this/that because you're a girl", "this is not a girl's job", "don't go out dressed like this or if someone touches/rape you, it will be your fault", and all this kind of sexist bullshit which I actually heard with those ears.

I keep saying to myself "with my behaviour in another century you would have been burned". In fact witches are nothing else but women who did not accept the religious/male based world for the most different reasons. Plus I am very passionate in antropology, history and I travel a lot (but always less that I'd like) because I find a priceless value in knowing the world and the peoples by traveling.

Basically that's why I am running the Photo-project "Witch and Pagan - UK017"

please feel free to suggest books and links in the comment below.

Keep following me if you want to know more about my experience, about the witches in time and space or if you only want to have a look at the pictures.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Archive
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page