top of page

#theoreticalreference #feminism #visualculture #reflectionmaterials #PointOfView

I identify myself in feminism for many reasons.

when I was a little girl, adults used to ask me "uuhhhh, what a cute little girl, what's your name?" and my reply often was "Totò" (Italian male name).

I remember that it was so funny to me.


Once at school I was so passionate in history and art and I remember that I realised pretty soon that there were too less women in what they were telling me, so I started searching for them between the pages of the history of art . Another thing that definetly influenced me is the fact that my mum used to tell me some quiet different goodnight stories: from greek and latin mitology passing trough Shakespeare, to modern literature (Carlo Manzoni or Pirandello). It helped me a lot in orientating myself in the bookworld and in understanding challenging books during my age of learning.

When I turned into my teens I started asking question to myself about the society around me and I fell in Marxism. From my 14 to 18 I was an active member of Rossoperaio (turned into Red Block) and a MFPR (Proletarian Feminist Revolutionary Movement). At that time I was so much focused in reading, understanding and learning from marxist philosophy and this interest was common to others. I took part to experiences that I personally consider not only ethically formative, but also an enrichment as a human being. My parents are both teachers so I took also advantage from their bookcases and I tried to build mine. Reading is always been driven by my passion of discovery, my innate need to ask questions and find answers.

As an activist I had the chance to meet other women (ex. nepal, turkey) with my same point of view, but not artists. In fact I felt with no reference points in this sense


I I dealt with the theme of capitalism and the influence of religion in the graduation exam,in both practical and theoretical examinations analysing the connection between the historical fact of roman expantionistic model followed and aimed for centuries (the last expression is directly linked to the Italian fascist architectural reference) and then inglobed into capitalism.

After my adolescence I was seeking for a connection between my need to express myself and the quantity of informations, experiences and stimuli to process. As I already explained here, I was looking for tools and a method.

And I found them both.

after attending prof. Angelini's lessons as a free auditor at University of Macerata and reading the book she suggested I decided to deal with hot topics analysing the women representation and exclusional path in history of art, and simoultaneously theorising, building and testing what my contribute could be. I also expressed my concern about the gap between art, artists and creatives taken from the political debate, leaving a good slice of cultural production with no responsabilities, as if creating value and culture were not art's job. As if art's job were finished with the start of post history, leaving room to the self referencial and celebrative "creation of beauty".



Since summer 2015, the 'migrant crisis' has become somewhat of a 'hot topic' in the art world, owing to the sector’s natural tendency towards political activism, but also its ability to inform and educate. More and more art institutions are engaging with the topic of migration, from individual artists and small charity organisations to huge national galleries. The results are varied in terms of their success (and ethical motivations), but have the political potential to completely change public debate and sentiment towards immigration: a potential that is radically undervalued by politicians, who see art as a pointless exercise in self-expression (exemplified in the government’s recent decision to axe A-Level Art History).




(...)I realized quickly when I knew I should That the world was made up of this brotherhood of man For whatever that means
And so I cry sometimes When I'm lying in bed just to get it all out What's in my head And I, I am feeling a little peculiar
And so I wake in the morning And I step outside And I take a deep breath and I get real high And I scream from the top of my lungs What's going on? (...)
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Archive
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page