top of page

A sicilian in Pendle Hill: the second journey

Few days after my first attempt (article here) I decided to try again to "reach the witch", so I decided to try another strategy. As I did the first time, I got the bus 'til Burnley. Differently from last time I got a shuttle and I dropped out in Fence, a village in the civil parish of Old Laund Booth, close to the towns of Nelson and Burnley.

From Fence I walked trough the Forest of Pendle

It is a very peaceful place. Hitch-hiking is not very common nowadays, but I am been lucky: a very kind (and peculiar) man picked me up, and I arrived in Newchurch-in-Pendle easily. I don't know his name, but he has been very kind to me: he stopped his car in front his house to get me a little book about the Pendle witches history.

It is very easy to find the church, Newchurch is a very small centre.

I start searching hints about where the witches are been buried.

Of course it is not allowed to bury witches in consacred ground. But I spot something very interestng, anyway.

In the picture below shows one of the sides of the church. As you can notice from the image, there is a kind of different stone setted in the wall: it is the God's eye protecting the people and the church from evil and witches (lol)

I also spotted the Nutter's gravestone so I decided to keep walking to find out where Alice Nutter, one of the Pendle witches, was.

just charming

and finally Alice Nutter

I tell this stories because they are my own. Witches causes alarm and confusion wherever they appear.

"All wickedness is but little to be the wickness of a woman" Ecclesiasticus XXV

If you want some insight i can suggest to visit the website www.pendlewitches.co.uk


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Archive
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page