top of page

My first journey: Barrowford

When I decided to take this first trip, I wasn't completely sure about the way, it was a real discovery journey.

Pendle hill is located in the east of Lancashire, near the towns of Burnley, Nelson, Colne, Clitheroe and Padiham. I got the bus Manchester-Nelson and I got off the bus in Burnley, then I got a shuttle from Burnley to Barrowford, a large village close to Pendle Hill: full of green and close the Pendle Water it seems to me a good start for my walk.

In my opinion walking through places and see with your own eyes is an experience that enriches not only the research, but also the researcher as a person. This is a very important practice especially for artists.

My "goal of the day" was to visit the local Heritage Centre

Unfortunately I was late, so I only had the chance to visit the garden.

walking behind the Heritage Centre, following the creek, a charming little wood called Park Hill directed me to a very peculiar building.

It is called The Crack Barn. Later I read that the barn was moved from Cliviger, near Burnley, in 1985.

It is the only crack frame building to survive in Pendle and Burnley and is a good example of medieval construction. I suppose it can be datable around the 14th century

(I'll let you know)

At this point I decided to have a look around and see where I could find the witches graveyard. Checking my map it was 1 hour and a half far (walking) .

The risk to lose the last shuttle to Burnely was high, it was my first time there, better to be cautious and plan a second journey. I concluded that instead, I could visit the local cemetery.

It was already half past six and at this point I was absolutely starving.

what can be better than some food and a pint?

Yeah, well.. two pints, to be fair ... I didn't tell you above, but I wasn't on my own: my adventure mate, best friend, drinking mate (and boyfriend) came with me. We love to visit new places together, discovering people, food and drink, lifestyles and more.

By the way, we went into a very cozy pub called White Bear Pub, just in the main road, in front of our shuttle stop.

After some pork scratching, spicy chicken and a good pint, we finally got the bus. Then I decided to take some picture of the way back.

The song that I chose for this post is played by Omnia, a self-described "neoceltic pagan folk" band based in the Netherlands. The song is Fee Ra Huri.

I'm still wondering if it's Scottish Gaelic. If someone knows more about this language or recognise any dialect, please comment below or inbox be directly by clicking here

Thanks for reading, see you in the next chapter of this adventure.

Don't forget to share and like!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Archive
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page